This site has been created to expand and share on some of the insights that led to the writing of It's Monday Only in Your Mind: You Are Not Your Thoughts.

Developing Discipline 

When life is based on lies that are believed, it’s those beliefs that keeps one attached to the lies. If discipline isn’t developed to expose these lies, they will be the base of one’s existence.

I often share my experience on how I use sitting (meditation) as a way to develop discipline, but the questions I have are, why was being undisciplined so natural and how come being disciplined wasn’t? After sitting periodically for a few months my mind began to settle and I saw real results in how my view of life was becoming different and I understood I wasn’t the one doing it. To a degree I got why this was occurring and the reason it continues to occur today; discipline has been developed that wasn’t previously there. This is available to anyone who has a willingness to sit.

My life was based on lies that I believed, and those beliefs kept me attached to the lies. These were the tools that were developed to live my life, but there came a time when I knew I had to find a different set of tools, so my so called quest began. Everything I read pointed to the mind so I knew where my answers were, I just didn’t know how they were going to manifest. I did know I had to find some way to allow my self centered mind to settle or nothing was going to change.

I began sitting, and as my mind settled I was becoming more aware of the mind agitations that arose, which is what caused me to reach outside myself for satisfaction. Reaching for something was the means used to quiet these agitations. This is the value of discipline, develop none and one will have none when its needed, and the developed tools will remain in place along with being controlled by the mind agitations. This is what has been occurring in my life the last nine years; developed discipline means the mind agitations become less and less and as there are less of them, there is more discipline to not give in to them. I never had the discipline to not give in to the agitations so I just responded with the tools that were there, but today my tools are different so life has manifested differently. It’s by no means a doing on my part, but there is a willingness to develop the necessary discipline to allow this to take place, because without it the undisciplined mind remains in control.

Comments on: "Developing Discipline " (2)

  1. Claudia Lämmermann said:

    For many years I have been trying to meditate or sit in stillness, however never succeeded, in fact for the last thirty years. Believe me, I have tried everything! Now I am 73 and feel I m u s t change something in my life which is really hectic (helping asylum seekers and refugees). There is no discipline in my life, everything being so chaotic. How is it possible to develop discipline at my age? What do you mean by “reaching for something…” And what
    t o o l s could I develop?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

