This site has been created to expand and share on some of the insights that led to the writing of It's Monday Only in Your Mind: You Are Not Your Thoughts.

Cumulative Burdens 

To truly live it has to be learned to not carry the burdens of past moments into the present ones, so our cumulative burdens would never materialize and we would be free to deal with what arises.

Most of the problems that occurred in my life were due to making things cumulative. I always carried one thing into the other. I never understood this until I was at work one day. I work twelve hour shifts and we were working a lot of overtime, this particular week I was on my fifth day in a row. I was talking to one of my shift mates when he asked me if I was tired because of this being my fifth day of work in a row. As I began to answer him, the thought that popped into my head was this “What does the previous four days have to do with today.” As I thought about this, I saw how so much of the burdens that I carried around for most of my life were strictly formed from not understanding how not to make the events of my life cumulative. It’s a skill that eluded me and made life more burdensome then was necessary.

Imagine a life, it can become a reality with practice, but imagine a life without the cumulative affect. It would be like water running off a ducks back. Things would never accumulate and become an issue. These accumulations are the very thing that makes life feel as if it were a burden. If it was learned to truly live in the moment and not carry the burdens of past moments into the present ones, our cumulative burdens would never materialize and we would be free to deal with what arises. So the key to a happy, joyous and free life isn’t that it is free of difficulties, it would be if we were not conditioned to make it so, but it’s understanding although our life is one continuous journey one past moment has nothing to do with the present one. Don’t carry around and accumulate the events of past moments so you aren’t weighed down by your self-created burdens.

Leave a Reply

