This site has been created to expand and share on some of the insights that led to the writing of It's Monday Only in Your Mind: You Are Not Your Thoughts.

Time is Precious

Time is precious, but to most people it becomes a burden because of the limits that are put on it. When it’s used to keep one on a rigid schedule, therein lies one’s limit.

I have lived roughly 21,000 days in this form and the aspect of time amazes me more and more each day. It’s our most precious commodity, it truly waits for no one and that’s whether one wants it to or not. As the saying goes “this too shall pass” and this applies to everything. Where are the days gone by and were they truly ever here? I know they were here because I was here, but where are they now? Physically without a doubt they were experienced, but even the days that I’m living right now which have much more awareness and mindfulness than there was in the past, before you know it the day is at its end and it’s time to prepare for tomorrow. I’m not being philosophical about how it’s always now and tomorrow really never comes, I’m just looking at my life and I’m watching it fly by. Moment by moment, hour by hour, day by day, month by month, and finally, year by year, and than one day just like that, it will be over.

For me, it’s vital to learn to align my actions with life so life works for me. For years the alignment of my actions were based to self serve and this didn’t allow life to work for me. Life was a constant struggle, a struggle that was self created, but time does seem to go a lot slower when one is in dire straights, but like everything else, this too shall pass, as it always does.

The one thing I have come to understand about time is it goes by regardless of what’s going on in my head, so when there’s alignment with life, it doesn’t matter what happens because life is being lived in cooperation with time, which makes one in harmony with life. To be in harmony with life is to understand that time is our most precious commodity and regardless of what happens, this too shall, so don’t take anything so damn serious because one day, no matter what goes on in the head, we will be out of time. Our greatest relief is living each moment as it is. Our greatest misgiving is wasting the precious time that we have left, regardless of how limited it may be. 

 

Leave a Reply

