This site has been created to expand and share on some of the insights that led to the writing of It's Monday Only in Your Mind: You Are Not Your Thoughts.

What’s Next

One can’t say for sure if you do what’s right right things will happens, but I do know there’s definitely more of a chance of the right thing happening when you do what’s right.

It’s usually not seen what the results of doing what’s in front of you are, but I will say this, in my experience it’s the perseverance to consistently be willing to do what’s right over the course of time that makes life what it is. Who knows what’s around the corner? Whether it’s good, bad, or indifferent knowing what’s next doesn’t prevent it from happening, and to me knowing what’s next would take most of the excitement out of life. Life can be experienced fully without attachment if the story of what’s next is kept to a minimum. Let’s say it’s possible to know the day existence in this form will end, most people would be okay with that as long as it was at the ripe old age of ninety and one was healthy. But for the one who knows death will occur next year, next week, tomorrow, or even today, what now? The thing with looking at death in this way frees one if it’s seen that all the mentioned scenarios are possible.

How one is controlled by what’s next is in direct relation to the story of fear one makes up. After all the fear of what’s next is only one of not wanting life to be in any other way except how one wants it. Most people will take living to ninety in a heartbeat, but now add illness to it and this would change. Unfortunately most times what’s next isn’t directly controlled by anyone, we do alter it somewhat by the things that are done, but for the most part everyone is at the mercy of life.

The other day I was in my car driving home from work, I had my cellphone in my shirt pocket, I don’t normally put it there. What happened next was scary and then funny. The phone was on vibrate and I got a call, because I didn’t consciously remember putting my phone in my shirt pocket I thought I was having a heart attack. I think in the span of one second there were thousands of thoughts going through my mind. Finally, which was only seconds, I touched the area of the vibration and I knew it was because of my phone. Boy was I relieved, but the reality of what’s next can change life drastically in one heartbeat and all without anyone’s permission. I am happy to say what’s next was not in the cards on that day for me to leave this form, but one day it will be, I just don’t have to fear it by wanting what’s next to be in any way but what it is.

Leave a Reply

