This site has been created to expand and share on some of the insights that led to the writing of It's Monday Only in Your Mind: You Are Not Your Thoughts.

Existing Mind Chatter

Mind chatter exist because nothing is there to stop it. Constant attachment gives the chatter the energy needed to respond accordingly, but when the mind is present the chatter subsides on its own.

This morning at around 2:00am, I awoke from a sound sleep for no apparent reason, instantly my mind wanted to make this a problem, this making it a problem occurred like I was on automatic pilot and hence the mind chatter commenced. There wasn’t a known reason for the chatter except that my mind wanted to convince me that either I should be sleeping or I should be thinking about how to solve the worlds problems. At the very least I should be thinking about my day ahead and solving all my own problems, but instead of attaching to these thoughts, I just stayed present with the awareness of what was happening.

Being awake regardless of the time isn’t good, bad, or even a problem, it’s just what was happening at that moment. My mind was chattering and was just responding to an unsettled mind agitation. As this was happening I began breathing in and out slowly with the focus on each breath. I was very deliberate in doing this because I understood I needed to establish a center. There was this awareness that being awake wasn’t a problem unless it was made into one so by being aware of this and establishing a center, the mind settled and the mind chatter subsided.

It wasn’t always this way for me as I remember vividly how I use to toss and turn until I would take a sleep aid to fall back to sleep. I don’t need to do that anymore, not because I fall back to sleep, but because it doesn’t matter if I’m awake or sleeping. Each moment of life is a gift regardless of the circumstances, but if the chatter of the mind is in control then the story that I need to be sleeping will be created, that is until I establish a center and then it doesn’t really matter what happens. 

 

Leave a Reply

