This site has been created to expand and share on some of the insights that led to the writing of It's Monday Only in Your Mind: You Are Not Your Thoughts.

Keeping Life Simple 

To keep life simple one mustn’t mind what happens because the moment you do it becomes complicated, as it opens the door to the nonsense of the way one thinks life should be as opposed to the way it is.

If life can be kept simple it has the potential to be so much more enjoyable. It’s one’s own mind that makes life complicated, but it can also be trained to keep life simple. The more simple life is kept, the more profound that life will be, this is because with simplicity comes the ability to not mind what happens to you and regardless of what it is, if you don’t mind what happens to you, it alleviates the complications of wanting life to be different. And life doesn’t get much more simple than being with what happens in the moment in which it occurs as opposed to wanting it to be in some other way.

I like to use playing golf as an example of this. For years I tried to find the one thing that would make my golf swing come together, just like I tried to find the one thing that would make my life come together. I would constantly try different gadgets and technics and the more I did this, the more out of sorts and complicated my swing was. One day just as I did with trying to find the one thing to change my life, I stopped doing this and began relying on the mechanics that were already in place. I don’t hit the ball any worse than when I was complicating my swing, but now I have fun regardless of what happens and it’s because of the simplicity of not minding what happens that this has occurred.

Can you see the parallel here with life? Complicating life makes it difficult as it keeps one like a dog chasing its own tail. Simplicity is key to a simple life and a simple life is key if one is to be at peace. And to keep life simple one mustn’t mind what happens because the moment you do it becomes complicated, as it opens the door to the nonsense of the way one thinks life should be as opposed to the way it is.

Leave a Reply

