This site has been created to expand and share on some of the insights that led to the writing of It's Monday Only in Your Mind: You Are Not Your Thoughts.

An “Aha Moment” Shift

Everyone has an “aha moment” that shifts their view of life, but the mind has to be settled if one is to be aware of this. The question is if there isn’t awareness, what’s going to done so the next “aha moment” isn’t missed?

There are many “aha moments” throughout one’s life, but they go unnoticed because most of the time there’s to much noise going on in the head. One “aha moment” in particular happened one morning at 4am, my neighbors dog was barking away and it woke me up. My first noisy thought at the time was to go shut the dog up, but because I was sitting daily and practicing disciplining my squirrel cage mind and because my mind was more settled than ever, I said to myself “that’s what dogs do, they bark” so I accepted the barking. Well the next thing I know I woke up and it was 8am. I can’t tell you if the dog stopped barking or not, but I do know an “aha moment” happened because when I woke up I realized for the first time ever that I had spent my entire life wanting things to be different and this was the source of many if not all of the discontentment I ever had in my life. This “aha moment” shifted my view life.

My view shifted because no longer could I blame anything outside myself for my discontentment. The veil of ignorance was removed, to me it was truly mind boggling. Years of confusion and frustration fell away as this “aha moment” was experienced. This “aha moment” was my moment of truth; it’s what an “aha moment” reveals, truth and truth is freedom. The more life is lived in truth the more freedom one has, that is why Jesus said “know the truth and the truth will set you free.” Free from what: the ignorance that keeps a person locked in the prison of the Conditioned Mind. An “aha moment” allows for acceptance of things as they really are instead of wanting them to be in the way of the make believe world of ignorance, which is instilled by the Conditioned Mind. So it isn’t a question if you are going to have an “aha moment” the question is, when it happens are you going to be aware of it? 

 

Leave a Reply

