This site has been created to expand and share on some of the insights that led to the writing of It's Monday Only in Your Mind: You Are Not Your Thoughts.

The Burden Of I

It’s the attachment to I that makes life delusional and causes one’s struggles. I is there, but there wouldn’t be any issues if one didn’t attach to it and make it a delusional identity.

Life is never the cause of our so called struggles because life just is, it’s not personal. We make it personal when we attach the burden of I to it. If there wasn’t this attachment to I there would never be a burden. When someone does something, and it’s said “I don’t like that” see how I makes it personal. Everyone acts in the way they’re conditioned so no one does anything personally to you, they just do what they’re conditioned to do. They would do it even if someone else was in your place. If their conditioning was different their actions would be different, so what is being done is only because of the way one is conditioned so don’t take it personal.

It is this way with all of life, at least this has been my experience. Life is always happening and it is my I attachment that creates the struggle. The struggle is not because of what happens, but because of the attachment to what happens through the association with ones I. Look at this for yourself, can there be a struggle without an I? When life is considered a struggle, who is struggling, I am. No I, no struggle. Its impossible to struggle without I. So if there isn’t an association with I and I isn’t attached to, what are you left with?

This is what your own mind doesn’t want you to find out, that what is left is pure unadulterated love. This isn’t as complicated as it my seem and it is the simplicity to see this that your I is blocking from you. It’s not that you don’t exist, if you were pinched by someone it is felt and it would probably hurt, but the question is, who feels it? Who feels anything for that matter? I do. Without I, who would feel it? So it is the association with an I identity thats used to define ourselves, this makes us attach to the concept of I and it is the cause of our inner turmoil.

When the mind becomes still enough to see this, what happens is you stop taking life personal. The disassociation with I is at the core of this. As long as you are alive you exist, but you don’t have to associate your identity with I, which in turn alleviates struggling. After all, who is it that struggles? I do, but without the association to I the struggle would not be. Become very quiet and this will be understood. By who, not I, but by the still small voice within that’s always there; it’s just not heard because of how I is a burden and is used to define oneself.

Comments on: "The Burden Of I" (3)

  1. This is one of the hardest lessons to be learned, but as I am experiencing more moments in my life of detachment from “I” the more I learn about the significance of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

