This site has been created to expand and share on some of the insights that led to the writing of It's Monday Only in Your Mind: You Are Not Your Thoughts.

Emanating Love

Love emanates as behavior and it is measured by the way a person treats another person and themselves. It’s difficult to act selfishly or self serving when the base of ones life is to love.

Growing up, although there was love all around me I never understood it. I didn’t know how to love myself or others. I would always behave in ways that was destructive to my own well being. Some of this was learned and some of it just seemed like it was from within myself. The problem with this was if I didn’t act it ways that showed love to myself how was I going to show love to others. And without love as the base of any life it makes it very difficult to live life to the fullest.

I know it is said that love is the true nature of life, but that doesn’t mean it will be the base of every life. Look at some people like, Adolf Hitler, Charles Manson, and Ted Bundy to name a few, ask their victims families if love was their true nature. Even myself, but not to that degree, I was very selfish, and most of my decisions made were to satisfy my self. But not today because I learned this valuable lesson of what it means to love thy neighbor as thy self and I truly don’t want to hurt anyone. Love emanates as behavior and it can be measured in others as in one self by the way people are treated. Its hard to act selfishly or self serving if the base of ones life is love.

I often tell the story of my daughter, when I was taking her on an overnight stay over to the Jersey Shore. Thirty miles into the trip she told me she forgot here bedding. When the anger arose as it always had when things didn’t go my way, the one thing that stuck out more than anything was I did not want to hurt her, I also knew that if I hurt her I would be hurting me. So there wasn’t any of the normal yelling, we just turned around and headed back home to get her bedding. When I didn’t react in anger, I knew my view of life was different and I knew the difference was I was learning how to love. When you can truly be with your given life and accept yourself blemishes and all, you will know you are truly on a road not only less travelled, but one that leads to loving thy neighbor as thy self.

Comments on: "Emanating Love" (2)

  1. Oh, YES, Michael!!! Thank you. ❤

Leave a Reply

